The Elusive Non-Drinking College Student

ChandlerSanzone

Space Monkey
space monkey
I am a sophomore in college currently, and I've never smoked, and never drank alcohol before. Ever. It used to be something I was proud of because I thought that if you did those things then you had your priorities out of wack and that you needed alcohol/weed to have fun or cope with your issues. I have social anxiety, and myriad other issues commonly associated with "nice guy syndrome." I've been approached by many guys in frats here saying that I should rush and join their frat, but I figured it'd be a total waste since I didn't drink or smoke. However, I feel like I'm not enjoying college at all. People say that college is the most fun 4 years of your life but I haven't had any fun here. I'm the stereotypical goodie-goodie who doesn't want to risk his future by doing stupid things and I tend to say "no" whenever I get invited to do something. My biggest worry is that if I try alcohol, I will get addicted to it because it will temporarily cure my social anxiety. I feel like I shouldn't have to drink to have fun and I should instead focus on "fixing" myself and my social anxiety. I've almost drank 3 times in the past month but I'm just so unsure about it. I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts regarding my situation. I want to drink because I'll finally be able to say what's on my mind without worrying about what other people think AND I think it'll help me stop being the uptight kid who never wants to do anything fun. I guess you could say alcohol scares me in a sense, but I hate living my life in fear.

Any advice/thoughts are thoroughly appreciated!

Mr.Rob

Modern Human
Modern Human
Interesting question, and I commend the honest objective self assessment of yourself. Ultimately its up to you to decide what kind of experiences you want to accumulate for yourself.