Fashion  Anybody Rock a Durag Before?

The Emerald Archer

Tool-Bearing Hominid
Tool-Bearing Hominid
I've never been a baseball cap/wearing hats type of guy. The only hats I'll wear are beanies in the winter.

However, lately, I've been looking for something a little extra to rock on my noggin' while at work (I work in a warehouse).

I've always liked durags because of my interest in hip-hop and I remember seeing guys like Eminem and 50 Cent rockin' them in music videos when I was younger and it kinda made me want to wear one. If I was ever gonna start wearing something on my head (except beanies in the winter) I would want it to be a durag.

I'm not sure the reactions I would get. Meaning would I really look racist or like I'm doing some type of cultural appropriation? Not actually racist, but you know how the mainstream media/culture is with all this cultural appropriation stuff.

And I'm talking about most normal, well-adjusted people, not the hypersensitive SJWs who want to get offended at everything.

I just want to double-check and make sure I'm not coming off as socially unaware and overstepping with wearing a durag if ya know what I mean?

There would also be a purpose to me wearing one too. I have thick, coarse, curly hair and it would help keep my hair neater/tidier which I like. And it would help absorb sweat better, especially working in a warehouse in the summer where temperatures can get hotter than 100 degrees on the hottest days.

Anyways, what do you guys think? Would it be that bad/racist/cultural appropriation or even socially unaware for a non-black guy to wear a durag, or should I be good?

I wouldn't just be wearing it at work too by the way. I'd be wearing it to the gym sometimes, and probably running errands like buying groceries or getting Choptle. So a variety of venues/environments.