How to level up from middle class to upper-middle class life?

metalbird

Tool-Bearing Hominid
Tool-Bearing Hominid
My Goal: Earn >$500k / year, work in Fortune 500 C-Suite, or high level federal government, or similar level NGO. I want to get paid to travel first class internationally, work on strategic problems (like business strategy or public policy), or work in VC, etc.

Where I'm at Now: Earn > $200k / year FAANG Engineer, no Bachelor's degree but could finish in 1 year, <50k equity total net worth. High IQ/EQ, hard working, always dreamed of getting a PhD. Very typical slightly under-privileged millennial (as traditional university was not an option for me), but smarter/more talented than most people I've ever met. I have some startup experience and good business sense, but zero startup acquisitions under my belt.

Premise:
Over the past couple of years, I've asked a fair number of successful (by definition above) people, "What do I have to do to get to your level of success?" I usually pair this with a suggestion, like, "Do you think I should do ______?" Unfortunately, I have yet to get a single solid, believable, actionable answer, so I'm turning to the GC forum for advice. A sampling of the advice I've gotten (from very respectable and seriously successful individuals):

• "I can't tell you what will work for you, you've got to figure it out for yourself" -- love this one, super helpful

• "You don't need an MBA to get into C-Suite anymore. When I was CEO of blah blah, we hardly hired any MBAs" -- without any guidance on who they do hire

• "Everyone has a PhD now. It's not worth the four years of being poor". -- probably true, but a lot of successful people have PhDs...

• "Graduate school isn't worth it unless you get into a top 5 program" -- this is the only advice I've gotten that seems to be true, based on everything I've seen