Losing Hair, Have a Decision to Make

MonsterzRock

Space Monkey
space monkey
Yeah, this has been a challenging one for me as well. I'm almost ready to take the "bald" plunge, lol.

However, I'll say this for the moment, that I've been using Rogaine for over 21 years now. At age 60, it hasn't stopped the balding completely but it has slowed it down. I'm still a little on the fence about going completely bald but know that it's inevitable within the next few years.
My other frustration is I can't do the facial hair thing. I didn't get those genes at all, lol. And trust me, I've tried many times and it ends up looking F'ing stupid!

Starboy

Tool-Bearing Hominid
Tool-Bearing Hominid
My hair has been thinning too and it's been upsetting me too. I've taken biotin pills to try and reduce hair loss at the very least,but it's having little effect it looks like. I'm the same age as op as well. Do I just accept the fact that i'm balding cuz of my genetics and there's very little I can do?

MonsterzRock

Space Monkey
space monkey
Just a brief follow-up to my earlier post. I didn't start losing hair on the crown area of my head until about age 38 and started using Rogaine (Minoxidil) the same age. For me, it stopped the thinning from getting any worse up until about age 56-57. But now it's also starting to thin out above my forehead.

Since I'm a crazy older guy and a working musician, I still color my own hair and occasionally use Caboki for the crown area.
But as I said earlier, I already realize this method isn't going to work for me much longer as I will run out of hair to color, lol. And I'm okay with going bald when the time comes. As a heavy metal lead guitar player, I can always look to one of my many idols like Joe Satriani who went bald ages ago. I can't rock the facial hair but I could rock the sunglasses like Joe does on stage, lol.