Does Age Matter?

TitanLXVII

Rookie
Rookie
Hi everyone,

I've been making approaches for awhile now and a recurring thing I've noticed is that my age seems to bother some girls. I'm 18 and I generally make approaches at college which means a lot of times I'll be approaching girls who are older than me. I didn't think that mattered until recently I had another girl seem uncomfortable when I told her how old I was. She was the one who brought it up so I didn't think lying was a good choice but then she became distant(note she's 22). I understand that it's possible for other reasons for her to become distant, like how I present myself or interact with her but my ultimate question is does age matter?

Stranger

Space Monkey
space monkey
Technically, age doesn't matter. It is just a social barrier created by people. I suggest to be vague when asked about your age, like answering it with "old enough", and jumping to another topic, but again I am just a total beginner. Wait for the professionals.

Flames

Cro-Magnon Man
Cro-Magnon Man
This a question I don't really think anyone can answer and it depends on the people Involved. My last 'gf' was 10years younger and the one before that was 10years older. I have quite a few women friends and generally the consensus is that age doesn't really matter, but then I see a guy in his 70's dating someone invthor 20's in the paper and I can't help but shudder (and be slightly jealous).

One of my gf's friends was talking about it to my current gf, about a creepy guy in his 40's dating someone her age (her and the gf are 26) when I pointed out I was only a few years off 40, she replied yeah but your not 40 yet, so lol I dunno.....

I'm more interested in girls in mid 20's atm so I guess that's about the right age for me personally. I'd like to hear other people's views on this.

Chase

Chieftan
Staff member
tribal-elder
Age is one of those things where the younger you are, the bigger a deal it is.