FR++, first date with conservative chinese girl

PinotNoir

Tool-Bearing Hominid
Tool-Bearing Hominid
Sorry, I write too much, but will try to make it concise... I'm writing a lot in hopes this helps someone else on a first date with a reserved chinese girl.

If you've read my previous posts, then you probably know that I was planning on seeing this girl out-of-state, but it got canceled because of funeral. Well, we got it rescheduled, and I went to go see her...

I know this is dumb; Ross & Franco helped me a lot on another thread. I'm doing a lot of "chasing." However, I've never done something like this before (ever), so I decided it would be a fun adventure.

Background
We met online, and I chatted with her a lot. I hate long-distance relationships, but we talk for 2 months and still have tons to talk about and enjoy each other, so I finally decide I will ask her out and fly to go on a date with her. Why not?...

Before the date, I read a lot of Chase's deep-dive/conversation and kissing articles and pseudo-plan what I will do/say.

Meet
I meet her outside and hug and kiss her on the cheek instantly. She looks drop-dead gorgeous, very cute... I tell her that she is too tall for me (joke; she is short, so laughs), but that she looks beautiful. We go back inside into my hotel room. It's time for us to exchange gifts. She's very conservative/reserved, so I have a hard time for her to sit next to me on bed. I say, "I will not give your gifts unless sit next to me" and smile. I grab her hands softly but stern (not forceful) and pull her over to the bed to sit next to me. We exchange gifts, and I also bought her a blue rose. She looks kind of stiff, so I pull her close to me and try to make her more relaxed and tell her, "Hey, it's just me, don't worry." She is too distant right now, so I don't try what Ross suggested in previous post...