Need some life advice

confusedguy43

Rookie
Rookie
Hey guys, I need some advice . :/

I'm not very good at identifying problems and figuring out how to solve them,or describing things succinctly, so I'll just post my story here and see what you guys think.

First, a bit of background information.

I'm 26, the eldest of 2 in a middle class family in Bangladesh (if you don't know about it, just imagine a more conservative india).

My younger brother has autism, not the cutesy type they show in media, rather he's like a 2 year old in the body of a 12 year old. He didn't get the help he needed when he was a child(or even now tbh), his communication and motor skills are pretty bad and he is dependent on others(namely me, since i don't work yet) for basic things like meals and taking showers etc.

The reason i'm talking about him is cause he is a pretty big part of my life and taking care of him for the last 12 years has shaped me differently from most others my age( spoilers: not in a good way ).

My parents are divorced, dad has narcissistic personality disorder and mom and i both have OCD(we're both neat freaks and germaphobes). I also get addicted to things very quickly(a running pattern in my family), i could be wrong about these, i lived a sheltered life and i'm not being completely objective here. I also can't trust dad, my hatred and fear of him in the early days left me with a crippling phobia of him and pretty much any authoritative figure i come across. I also resent mom, for.... i guess shackling me(i don't have a better word for it) to her through guilt. I know i'm being unfair and playing a victim here, it's just how things feel. The native culture of beating the shit out of your child and then expecting him to be happily obedient certainly doesn't help it. :)

If i describe myself in a few adjevtives, it would look like this: