Are there any other engineers on this site? Or any 9-5ers. Need some advice.

Beam

Tool-Bearing Hominid
Tool-Bearing Hominid
I feel like I’m at a bit of a crossroads. Now I don’t know if it’s the cause or not but I have become keenly aware of how much my job has been changing my personality. I work as an engineer – those youtube videos you see of bottles going down a conveyor with machines moving, picking and placing them, that is the field I work in, designing and programming the machines. When I get into it, I enjoy it. It’s fun. But it does not complement seduction at all. It involves sitting in front of a computer all day, with barely any interaction with anyone (I literally will not see my coworkers some days because a lot of the work is done remotely). When I do interact with them, it's in a stiff and monotone way to work through a problem, reading through technical manuals etc. When I step away from work, I am not a person I want to be. Even when I kill it, solving a hard technical problem where I should be proud of my achievement for the day, I walk away not confident, but a bit awkward and childlike, almost not knowing how to act around people. I don't feel like a man. It's telling too that on days at work where I'm not as productive and even a little checked out, I'm a lot more confident outside work. I realize now that this has always been the case. I am not naturally an awkward person. I was pretty confident as a kid, subjects that didn’t involve tech where I was around girls I was pretty cool and confident, but when it came time to smashing out technical problems it seemed so much of my brainpower got devoted to it that it didn’t leave much room for anything else, and I often got people telling me how awkward I was (this was years ago). The more responsibility I’ve been getting at work, the more prevalent this seems to be becoming again, and the harder it seems to get out of it and I wonder about how much worse it will get. I look at the older engineer