Attachment styles... are they really a thing?

DarkJedi

Tool-Bearing Hominid
Tool-Bearing Hominid
This has been an extremely interesting discussion. Thanks @Karea Ricardus D. for bringing it up.

I have been working on my attachment style for a few years and I really think attachment theory is a great lens/framework to figuring out your relationships, both romantic and otherwise. And yes, you can have different attachments also depending on the relationship. I'm securely attached to my mom, while very avoidant with my dad for example. I'm disorganized with my romantic partners, with my anxious or avoidant side being shown more, depending on who I am with.

I think the passion trap concept and attachment styles work in tandem. The passion trap shows what's going on with you and a specific partner, but your attachment style modulates or amplifies which position you lean towards in the relationship:
  • Anxious: Very high chance of being pushed to the one-down side, because they always have a tendency to need the other person more. With securely attached people, they'd probably be starting off one-down, and with avoidants, they'd be heavily one-down. With another anxious person, it would probably depend on who's more leaning anxious
  • Dismissive Avoidants: These are the ones who don't have attachment anxiety. High chance of being on the one-up throughout a relationship. When they perceive the tables turning, they'd rather exit the relationship than be one-down.
  • Disorganized/Fearful Avoidants: Have both sides in them, and can sway very easily to being anxious (one-down) and avoidant (one-up), depending on how the partner is acting. And they can hit both extremes of avoidance or anxiety.